Concept of relationship

Hello,

Trying to my get my head around relationship in schemas? What is the purpose of such relationships? Why follow from one instance to another rather than calling the followed instance? Read the oreliiy book, but not clear. I am not a Ruby programmer but still trying to understand. New to ManageIQ/Clouforms.

Thanks,
SN

Hi @ashok_nair
Relationship is an “arrows” in the “block diagram” of your workflow. For example you have workflow for provisioning a virtual machine. Each relation in the workflow is the call to a particular method (code) to perform shuch tasks as registering machines in the CMDB or DNS. Relationship is only method to call any instance from your running instance elsewhere in the Automation Datastore.

Hi Igor,

Thank you.

SN

Hello @star_night

In Ruby on Rails, they have a concept of has_many:
A Provider has many Hosts.
A Host has many Vms.

Some of these relationships are straightforward while others, like folders, are more complicated.

Relationships allow us to nest many different types of objects together.

Also, fetching an object tree with children and grandchildren can quickly generate many queries. This allows us to bring back all the levels in the tree in an efficient manner. It is tricky since the objects at each level live in different tables.

-Keenan

Hello Keenan,

Thank you. So, looking at the schema for Infra/VM/Provisioning/Profile, it has two fields of type relationship (networks and vmname) with messages “get_networks” and “get_vmname”. Are they called in order when “Profile” class is instantiated or they called from methods of the profile class? Trying to understand the flow. Also, “vmname” relationship has a default value (/Infrastructure/VM/Provisioning/Naming/Default#create) and networks dont have a default value. Can you please explain the flow of execution? And how are “collect” fields used.

Is there any documentation that I can read to better understand all these?

Thank you for your time.