Generic objects in AE Model

I have been working with CloudForms/ManageIQ for almost a year and had issues when my customers requested to manage other objects than VM/Host/Datastore. As pointed out in the thread “Breaking Free from Virt Management”, it would be great if ManageIQ were able to handle other objects.

So I started playing around with the object model in Automate Engine datastore. While it is not a true object model, as in Object Oriented Programming, with a few conventions one can simulate a pretty good model. For example, I created a /Objects namespace (in a custom domain) that is meant to store new object classes. In this namespace, I created a class named Objects which is meant to be the mother of all other classes in the namespace and that sets the minimum requirements.

1. A method called get_object_type
  2. A method called get_object_provider
  3. A method called get_object_instance
  4. A relationship called attributes that points to /Attributes/${#type}/${#provider}/${#instance}
  5. A relationship called methods that points to /Methods/${#type}/${#provider}/${#instance}

This is meant to implement a Factory-ish pattern.
One just has to create a sub-namespace per object type that will contain a single class named after the type. Let’s say we want to be able to manage stacks, we create the /Objects/Stack namespace and a class called Stack within this namespace. This class is an abstract class for all the stack objects and links to /Attributes/Stack// and /Methods/Stack// (how is it interpreted by ManageIQ ?) to set the attributes and methods of a generic stack, from ManageIQ point of view.
Then one creates a class for each provider, such as AmazonWebServices or OpenStack. For example, the OpenStack class points to /Attributes/Stack/OpenStack/ and /Methods/Stack/OpenStack/. This sets the extra attributes for an AWS or OpenStack stack.
At last, one creates an instance of stack in /Objects/Stack/OpenStack that sets the real attributes.