How do I list available templates on Cloudforms to be used on a Service Catalog?

automate
providers

Hi, I hope everyone is okay. I’m new to Cloudforms and I’m trying to make a service catalog where the user can specify which template to use to create a new vm, and also to specify the vm memory size and cpu to be used later to create the new vm. My problem is that I’m not familiar with Ruby and I just want to create a dynamic dropdown where it lists my available templates, I searched for hours to see how to I manage it to list it but with no luck. Can someone please show me how to create a ruby method where I include it in my entry point for the dropdown list to show the current available templates?

PS: If anyone has an idea on how to create the ruby method for creating a new vm with these inputs please do not hesitate to assist on this task I would like to learn how to get it done.

Thank you for your attention.

The CloudForms automation book will probably be really helpful to you if you haven’t found it already. It has examples for doing quite a few things.

There’s also this CloudForms essentials repo by Kevin Morey which contains quite a lot of useful Automate methods, and also other user customizable forms and alerts and such. It’s pretty good at teaching by example too.

@01100010011001010110 Thank you for the help and I apologize for the delayed reply. I did indeed find the CloudForms automation book and it was very informative but I still couldn’t figure out how to list my available template.

$evm.vmdb(:vm_or_template).where(:template => true)

will provide you an array with the templates.

@xian Thank you for your reply, so I basically make a method with only that line of code and use it as entry point and it will list the templates?