Reusable Method

I am new to using Cloudforms and have been going over the Mastering Cloudforms Automation book. I have been able to create a few workflows succesfully since starting to look into it last month.

My question is a lot of my workflows are going to be “copy and paste” but only modifying a few fields, The method will connect to a Windows server using winrm and kick off a script.

The only thing that would change in the method are:
-Importing the inputs from the dialog
-The script with the arguments to kick off.

Is there a way to have a “Master Method” that can do this? This would also help because if i had multiple methods, i would have to set the username and password for each that is used to connect to the server using winrm

You could have multiple instances that all execute the same method. The differences would be set as variables of the class (i.e. what script to run). The method would reference the variables from the instance and the dialog to determine what script to run and arguments to pass. As long as the dialog element names are the same between the different dialogs the method would be able to reference them as well regardless of the instance.

You could create your “master method” to read inputs and the script name to be run from $evm.object, and then call the master method using various helper methods that handled the dialog input handling, etc.

These helper methods could call the master method using something like:

Your master method would receive these arguments using something like:

script_to_run = $evm.object['script']
arg1 = $evm.object['arg1']
arg2 = $evm.object['arg2']

Chapter 46 of the automation book describes argument passing between methods and instances, and case 3 in this chapter describes argument passing is this way when calling $evm.instantiate.

Hope this helps,

I think if we went this route I would have to store the username and password in each instance that we create.