[solved] Add our own menu

Hello everybody.

First of all, I’m new in ManageIQ world, and I hope my English will not be too bad.

I’d like to add my own menu in ManageIQ (like Cloud Intelligence, Service, Clouds, etc…) with my own pages.
I’ve created my route, my controller, my view, and everything works fine when I type the url.

I’ve edited the file app/presenters/menu/default_menu.rb to add a new “specific_menu_section” that looks like that :

def steph_menu_section
         Menu::Section.new(:set, N_("Steph"), [
          Menu::Item.new('steph', N_('steph'),   'steph',  {:feature => 'tasks', :any => true},  '/test_steph'),
          Menu::Item.new('steph2',      N_('steph2'),         'bottlenecks',        {:feature => 'tasks', :any => true},        '/test_steph2'),

])
      end

It almost works… but I need some informations : where can I add a new feature (like tasks, bottlenecks…) and what is the third parameter of Item.new ?

Thanks everyone for your help.

@dclarizio can your review this question by @Merrick28 and forward to a SME if necessary.

Hello,

I think I have found the answer :

In database, insert a new record in the “miq_product_features” table.
•identifier : short text without spaces and in lowercase
•name : name of the rbac point
•description : description of the rbac point
•feature_type : node
•protected : false
•parent_id : 1 if you wish the rbac entry at the top, otherwise the id of another record in “miq_product_features” table
•created_at : now()
•updated_at : now()
•hidden : false

Then edit the app/presenters/menu/default_menu.rb

If you wish to create a new top category, before the def default_menu section add :

def mymenu_menu_section
         Menu::Section.new(:set, N_("My Menu"), [

])
      end

Replace mymenu by the name you want.

In the def default_menu section, before the .compact, add the name of your section in the array (in this case, it would by mymenu_menu_section)